ING-FINEX Award to honor game-changing leader on its 15th year

ING-FINEX Award to honor game-changing leader on its 15th year

The Philippines’ most prestigious search for outstanding financial stewards will fete another “game-changing CFO” in its milestone 15th edition on November 17.

Presented through a permanent partnership between Dutch financial giant ING Bank N.V. and the Financial Executives Institute of the Philippines (FINEX), the country’s premier organization for finance and business professionals, the ING-FINEX CFO of the Year Award began in 2006. Today, the award continues on its mission to recognize the country’s top chief officers and inspire the next generation of Philippine financial leaders.

“In an evolving pandemic with no end in sight, the role of a CFO is now, more than ever, tested and vetted by its myriad of stakeholders,” says Jet Pampolina, Chairman of the ING-FINEX CFO of the Year Award Committee. “The CFO today leads from survival to sustainable growth, pivoting the business in crisis mode to address financial, operational and business resiliency risks.”

The 2021 ING-FINEX CFO of the Year Award will honor the best game-changing chief officer for the second consecutive year.

Last year’s search focused on the game-changer who guides, while this year’s edition will crown the game-changer who leads. The 2020 award recognized the financial steward’s ability to help a company or organization navigate the transitory phase between the old and new normal. This year, at a time when we are squarely into a different reality, the 2021 ING-FINEX CFO of the Year Award will celebrate a game-changing CFO who directs the order, one who leads the new game.

Nominations for this year’s awards are now closed. Every year, the ING-FINEX CFO of the Year Award looks for outstanding CFOs of any company operating in the Philippines, whether local or foreign-owned and privately held or publicly listed. The search uses clearly defined qualitative and quantitative criteria designed by FINEX Foundation, together with the Ateneo Graduate School of Business. 

The selection process gives equal weight to the CFO’s performance in various roles as the company’s strategist, catalyst, steward, and operator. The search involves a stringent endorsement and nomination process, followed by a rigorous set of panel interviews to determine the new awardee.

The inaugural ING-FINEX CFO of the Year trophy went to Delfin Gonzalez Jr. in 2007 when he was CFO of Globe Telecom. Sherisa Nuesa won the following year as CFO of Manila Water Company Inc. The awardees in the succeeding years were Jose Sio, Ysmael Baysa, Jaime Ysmael, Jeffrey Lim, Felipe Yalong, Jose Jerome Pascual III, Luis Juan Oreta, Danny Yu, Jose Teodoro Limcaoco, Ferdinand Constantino, and Augusto D. Bengzon. 

The 2020 Game-Changing CFO was Mylene Kasiban of Robinsons Retail Holdings, Inc.  

For more information about the ING-FINEX CFO of the Year Award, visit, or contact [email protected] or 0917-312- 3044.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *